Alexa says lights “not responding”, but they are functional

Greenfields137
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Dec 09, 2023 1:13 pm

Post

Hi,
I am wondering if anyone has had a similar issue to this before and can help please?
The supla light switches are all connected to Alexa and functioning. However, recently Alexa has been responding to any command by saying “Sorry, (light name) is not responding”. Even though it does actually do what I ask her to do.
So if I say “Alexa, switch kitchen lights on”, it switches them on, but then still says it’s not responding. Same if I try to switch them off or dim them.
I have tried to unlink the skill and re-link it. Delete any old not responding lights, but still having the same problem.

This happens on any Alexa voice command device, including tv and the app.

I’d be very grateful if anyone has a solution for this. Many thanks
User avatar
pzygmunt
Posts: 18613
Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2016 9:26 am
Location: Paczków

Post

The problem is known to us. We are looking for the cause.
jcswright
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Dec 10, 2023 6:43 pm

Post

I have exactly the same problem. I only installed the new dimmer switch today so it was disappointing because I uninstalled/reinstalled/disconnected/reconnected loads of times with my Amazon account trying to make it work.

I probably wasted over an hour. I did search for Supla service status, but there is nothing. You should implement that - I would have wasted less time if I knew you already saw the problem.

Do you know what the solution is yet?
User avatar
pzygmunt
Posts: 18613
Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2016 9:26 am
Location: Paczków

Post

The controls work properly. Alexa for some reason informs that the command was not executed correctly, even though the command is executed and the dimmer settings change in accordance with the voice command issued. Nothing has changed on our side. We are verifying the case, but it will take several to several days. Sometimes it happens that something just doesn't work on Amazon's side and we have no influence on it. There have been such cases before.
jcswright
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Dec 10, 2023 6:43 pm

Post

I wanted to check it was nothing at my end that was causing this, and I noticed that the 'Name' field circled in red below was blank. I've changed it to 'Dimmer' now (and it doesn't seem to have made a difference) but could you tell me what that field relates to?

Should I have named it 'Dimmer 1' to match the device itself? Just wondering if some kind of mismatch could be confusing Alexa...

Screenshot 2023-12-12 084312.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
User avatar
pzygmunt
Posts: 18613
Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2016 9:26 am
Location: Paczków

Post

It does not matter. The problem is not with the settings.
jcswright
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Dec 10, 2023 6:43 pm

Post

Hi - any news on this?

I have Alexa-controlled devices from 7 other different suppliers on the same network, and none of them are doing this... Is it isolated to a few users, or is everyone having the same problem?
User avatar
pzygmunt
Posts: 18613
Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2016 9:26 am
Location: Paczków

Post

We need a few more days to collect more data.
jcswright
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Dec 10, 2023 6:43 pm

Post

Here's something that might help:

My dimmable bulbs only just arrived, so up until now all I've done is turn lights on or off.

Alexa works fine if I ask for a brightness level. "Alexa, set kitchen lights to 50%" for example just gives the acknowledgement tones and no error.

Unfortunately you can't set the light to 0%, so the problem still needs fixing, but I thought it would be useful for you to know.
jcswright
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Dec 10, 2023 6:43 pm

Post

Hi - any news on this? The person I installed the switch for is unhappy with me and thinks it's never going to work properly...

Return to “Help”